Brief History of the Polytechnic Library

The history of the Polytechnic Library could be traced to the 24th June, 2009 with Assistant Chief Librarian and Three (3) Para- Professionals were employed as the pioneer Staff of the Library.

Skeletal Library services were then provided in the office of the Assistant Chief Librarian and Rectors Conference Room was used as the reading room preparatory for the full Library operations. Subsequently, the Polytechnic Library moved to the Temporary Academic area in the former Central Primary School Bali, opposite Bali old Market along Suntai-Mararaba Takum Road in September, 2010.

In April, 2015 the Polytechnic Library Moved to its present location sequential to the commencement of the full take off of the Academic Programs in the Polytechnic.

The Polytechnic Library took off with the collection of 212 and 224 assorted Books donated by the Federal Polytechnic Mubi Adamawa State and the Education Tax Fund respectively. These donations formed the nucleus of the Polytechnic Library collections upon which subsequent acquisition process was built.

Currently, the staff strength of Polytechnic Library stood at fourty one (41) made up of fifteen (15) Professionals, twelve (12) Para- Professionals and eight (8) non- Professionals and five (5) supporting staff. In the same vein, the Polytechnic Library has five hundred sitting capacity with befitting Air conditioning system to comfort users with conducive reading atmosphere. The Polytechnic Library collections stands at 17,654 volumes of Text Books/Reference Materials and 3,218 Journals covering all Academic programs in the Polytechnic and many others. The Polytechnic Library subscribed to five (5) daily Newspapers to keep staff and students abreast with information.

Nevertheless, the Polytechnic Library is sub divided into following functional divisions/ units, these are:

  1. Reader Services Division

Circulation unit

Reference unit

Serials unit

  • Technical Services Division

Processing Unit

Cataloguing Unit

Bindery/Reprographic unit

  • Media Resource Division

E- Library Section

Educational Resource Centre

  • Administrative Division

Polytechnic Librarian Office

Administrative Office Secretarial Office